Skip to content

Fighting The Dragon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cancer is a something that strikes a cord in me. Several of my friends have fought cancer and one lost the battle a couple years ago. So, When April posted on my FB Timeline last Spring looking for a photographer to donate their services for their NW Sarcoma Foundation’s Dragonslayer 5k fundraising/awareness event, I messaged her instantly. “Yes! I’ll do it!”

Over several emails & phone calls, I learned about adults my age, and kids who are and have struggled with different forms of Sarcoma cancer. I arrived to see Team Sam had 200 team members to raise money on behalf of Sam, and sisters fighting to raise money to help cancer research because her little brother lost his battle with Sarcoma.

I am honored that April asked me to shoot this incredible event that will help the advancement of cancer treatments for Sarcoma victims. Thank you April and NW Sarcoma Foundation for the opportunity to shoot the PDX Dragonslayer event!

And we’re off! Bikers, walkers, runners… we conquered that 5k with pride… and lots of sweat. ;)

Let me tell ya, power walking a 5k with camera gear is quite the work out. Wow.  (Ok, that makes me sound really wimpy…) Well, anyway… I was proud of myself. :)

The young man in the red shorts in the first row… that’s Josh. I’ve known him since he was in the womb and he fought and won his battle with Sarcoma, which attacked him at the age of 4. You rock Team Joshua!!

625 people registered. They raise $30,000 for cancer research. WAY TO GO!!!!!!

Thank you again, April and NW Sarcoma Foundation, for asking me to shoot this incredible event! It was an honor and pleasure to be able to support you all!

Would you like me to shoot your EVENT? Contact me!

Follow Focal Clarity Photography!

“LIKE” my Focal Clarity Facebook page!

Follow me on Twitter!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for posting this – they turned out beautifully!! The panoramic black and white one on top is lovely!

    October 8, 2012
    • Ashley Christine #

      Thanks Marli; you are so sweet!! =)

      October 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

